Rubor, Dolor, Calor, Tumor
Blog Address: http://blogs.medscape.com/rdct
October 24, 2014

Lots of Back Pain

Back pain is not a large part of my practice. Except.

There is, of course, the IVDA who presents with fevers and severe back pain. I had a pair of these this week. Both had MRI's that showed discitis with the adjacent end plates involved. It is always infection with that pattern on MRI, probably one of only four things in medicine that are 100% always true. Both had MRSA in the blood so the diagnosis was not in doubt.

The issue with these patients is not what to do but how to deliver the appropriate therapy. Lack of insurance, homelessness, drug addiction and mental illness all make for difficult delivery of appropriate MRSA therapy. But that is medicine in the US. I have yet to have to compromise t...

Posted By: Mark Crislip  

October 22, 2014

Look. But Do Not Touch.

When I was a medical student in the early 80's (1980's, BTW. I'm not that old) a dermatologist at my medical school enthusiastically encouraged us to touch rashes.

Feel them, she should say, get a sense of them. You can learn a lot by how a rash feels.

She was evidently not trained in ID and this was long before we worried about blood and body fluid exposures.

Fast forwa...

October 21, 2014

Mazel tov

Thanks to technology I get to know the names of bacteria more often.

The patient has known bicuspid aortic valve and comes in with fevers and night sweats followed by progressive shortness of breath. All his blood cultures are positive, the ECHO shows a vegetation and after stabilization for a few days of antibiotics his valve is replaced.

Everything, including the vegetation, ...

October 17, 2014

What's Going On?

The patient is an elderly female who, as part of a unilateral deafness evaluation, had syphilis serology. It was kind of positive: 2 plus FTA but a negative RPR.

History you ask?

One lifetime male partner, serology negative.