I'm an Intern Now
Blog Address: http://blogs.medscape.com/brianfishman
March 25, 2013

"I Don't Believe You -- I Don't Have Diabetes."

I've always found it amazing that people can be in such denial about their health. Just this past week alone, I've seen three patients who put off getting a colonoscopy into their 70s and 80s who presented with recurrent rectal bleeding that turned out to be cancer. I know a pulmonologist who takes cigarette breaks. Even my own father, an oncologist who should know better, had chest pain radiating down his arm, knew he had had an MI, and only told someone three days later when a nurse asked him why he looked so terrible. 

A few days ago, I saw a patient who was admitted for recurrent bilateral lower extremity cellulitis. She had multiple chronic non-healing ulcers on the dorsal surface of her feet, neuropathy, DVTs, and MRSA infections. She had a 40-pack-year history of smo...

Posted By: Brian Fishman  

March 13, 2013

Good Patient, Bad Outcome

I debated writing this entry for some time before finally deciding to share it here. It's a sad story about a poor outcome for a patient I got to know well over the course of her stay in the hospital. I hesitated to talk about it, but if the purpose of this blog is to share the important experiences from my intern year and talk about the effects those experiences had, then I would be remiss not...

February 28, 2013

Senioritis

Usually, apathy and lack of motivation happen to people who are about to finish whatever level of education they're working on. Seniors in high school and college, fourth year medical students, third year residents. I'm a few months away from finishing my intern year, with a full three-year residency ahead of me, and for the life of me, I can't bring myself to care about going in to work in the...

February 13, 2013

Match Day Relief