Lab Line by the Doctor’s Doctor
Blog Address: http://blogs.medscape.com/thomaswheeler
September 8, 2014

The Case for Case Reports

The case report has been considered one of the lowest forms of scholarship in academia.  It is typically the first publication for which a resident gets credit.  When I was a resident I remember a junior faculty person telling me "I don't do case reports anymore".  It was as if this could tarnish his reputation, doing a case report when he should have progressed to something more important.  Most journals seriously restrict the number of case reports, if they accept them at all. 

However, I would like to give a new perspective on this issue.  After over three decades in practice, there is little in the areas of surgical pathology that I practice that I have not seen or at least learned about at some point. 

However, what I...

Posted By: Thomas Wheeler  

July 16, 2014

RVUs for Pathology Workload – Good or Bad?

More and more academic centers (and many private groups) are going to an incentive-based compensation model with a base pay and the remainder of the compensation made up by indexing work productivity using the standard work RVU model.  RVU, short for “Relative Value Unit” was developed as an index of physician work in the 1980s by a work group at Harvard.  It has since bec...

June 4, 2014

Virtual Professors or Virtual Students? Both?

The physical presence of the medical students in didactic lectures is becoming a thing of the past.  In our medical school only about a third of students actually show up for the lecture.  The rest view the lecture material that is "streamed" on the internet for them to partake at their leisure.  They can speed up the boring lectures or slow down/repeat complicated lectures, all ...

April 11, 2014

The Pathologist’s role in Solid Organ Transplantation